First performance

Logan Ukulele Club - photo by Anton Thompson

The Logan Ukulele Club performed two songs in the intermission at Freedom Train’s Winter Grace concert on Sunday 7 August 2011 – End of the Line by the Traveling Wilburys, and Jamaica Farewell by, probably, Irving Burgie (accordingly to Wikipedia, source of all knowledge).

We tried to put together some interesting arrangements of the songs, and I think we succeeded. On End of the Line we all sang the choruses with improvised harmonies, and had solo singers (Marg, Celia and Jay) singing the verses. Celia didn’t forget to sing a line and swear like she did in rehearsal, for which we are thankful.

We all joined in again for the final double chorus, stopping for the first two lines of the final chorus and singing against the bass line before bring the ukuleles back in. I thought the intro and outro were nice and clean with good rhythmic strumming from everyone. It had a bit of a pub-sing-along vibe to it, but in a good way. (Although is there ever anything bad about a pub-sing-along vibe, I ask? No, of course there isn’t.)

We varied the vocals in Jamaica Farewell in a similar way, with everyone singing the chorus with harmonies again. This time, we had the women singing the first verse, the men singing the second verse, and then Cath and John harmonising on the third verse. We also broke up the song with a whistled verse, but on reflection I don’t think that comes across particularly well on stage – it sounded better in our lounge room rehearsal.

Jamaica Farewell is a bit of a cliched song for ukulele, but with good reason. It sounds fresh and pretty and light hearted when played on uke – it went over well with the audience and lots of people sang along.

4 Responses to First performance

  1. Celia says:

    And chiming in as myself here, rather than my LUC persona in which I try to write these posts – I found the difference between the stage sound and the lounge sound quite surprising (although it wouldn’t have been if I’d actually stopped to think about it beforehand). I found it a bit tricky not being able to hear the bass very well – I rely on that a lot for my timing.

    As someone who doesn’t enjoy performing all that much, I thought it was a lot of fun!

  2. Marg Oliver says:

    I was happy to hear our Mayor – Pam Parker – singing to both songs we played on the ukuleles!

  3. Marg Oliver says:

    Oh sorry to do 2 replies, But from Nikki i got that we sounded awesome, terrific & I think she will be shopping for a new uke in the near future. From Carmel, who has said she didn’t like the ‘tinny’ sound of the uke…….we might convert! lol
    Great feedback from our Choir I think. XOX

  4. Cath says:

    Yes excellent feedback there. My Dad Lawry said everyone was having so much fun – that was what was so great about it. He loved it! So did I!

Leave a Reply

